Posted by: cousinbrandon | August 19, 2009

“The Mixes” Series: Blazing and Tepid, 2004

Something funny must have happened in 2004, something that made me violate my own rules.  Or maybe I just hadn’t solidified my “rules of the mix” yet?  Or maybe there just weren’t too many solid records released in 2004?  Not sure why I chose to ignore my own palimpsest, but nevertheless I did. 

Brace yourself:  a band appears more than once on the same CD!  THREE TIMES!!

I’m seriously beating myself up over this.  The weird thing is that I often return to my old mixes, yet I suppose I just never realized my offense.  It probably has something to do with the fact that all of my music is now on my iPod, so I’m no longer staring at jewel cases and full-on tracklists.  Still, I’m ashamed of myself, and I ask for your forgiveness up front.

Taking stock of 2004, it still doesn’t appear to have been all that strong a year.  If I had to pick a winner for Best Record, it would likely come down to Animal Collective’s Sung Tongs, Arcade Fire’s Funeral, Wilco’s A Ghost is Born, and Madvillain’s Madvillainy.  Sadly, Madvillain didn’t appear on my mixes, so it’s more like one of those retroactive decisions.  Regardless, a really fine record.

With that, here’s 2004 in a nutshell:

Blazing (The Best “Fast” Tracks of 2004):

1. Animal Collective – “Who Could Win a Rabbit
2. Xiu Xiu – “Crank Heart
3. The Good Life – “Lovers Need Lawyers
4. The Fiery Furnaces – “Chris Michaels
5. Robbers On High Street – “A Night at Star Castle
6. The Futureheads – “Decent Days and Nights
7. Modest Mouse – “Bury Me With It
8. Franz Ferdinand – “Michael
9. Guided By Voices – “Asia Minor
10. Pedro the Lion – “Discretion
11. The Thermals – “How We Know
12. The Walkmen – “Thinking of a Dream I Had
13. TV on the Radio – “The Wrong Way
14. A.C. Newman – “The Battle for Straight Time
15. Of Montreal – “How Lester Lost His Wife
16. Rogue Wave – “Endless Shovel
17. John Vanderslice – “Coming and Going on Easy Terms
18. Snowglobe – “Mrs. June
19. The Good Life – “Notes in His Pocket
20. Interpol – “Evil

Tepid (The Best “Slow” Tracks of 2004):

1. Animal Collective – “Winter’s Love
2. The Elected – “Greetings in Braille
3. Wilco – “Company in My Back
4. Interpol – “Next Exit
5. Snowglobe – “Loaded Gun
6. The Fiery Furnaces – “Spaniolated
7. Arcade Fire – “Neighborhood #2 (Laika)
8. The Good Life – “A New Friend
9. Modest Mouse – “One Chance
10. Rogue Wave – “Be Kind + Remind
11. Menomena – “Rose
12. Jim Guthrie – “Time is a Force
13. Robbers On High Street – “Opal Ann
14. Devendra Banhart – “This Beard is for Siobhan
15. Iron & Wine – “Teeth in the Grass
16. Dios – “Nobody’s Perfect
17. Wilco – “Theologians
18. The Elected – “Go On
19. Detachment Kit – “Skyscrapers
20. Snowglobe – “Aimless Sailor

That’s all for 2004.  Get after it.

Disagree with any of my picks?  Are there any horrible oversights?  Can’t live without your own copy of my mix?  Whatever the case, feel free to send me your comments, questions, quips and complaints.

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. For Tepid, I’d add anything from Sufjan Stevens’ Seven Swans. A lot of people don’t like it that much, but it’s probably my favorite of his releases.

  2. Seven Swans never really caught on with me. It’s always been more of a “background” CD. Definitely more of an Illinois(e) guy.

  3. what a kickass list! thanks for compiling it. love animal collective, rogue wave, arcade fire, guided by voices in particular. but of the songs I didn’t know, I couldn’t find one I didn’t like as I listened. especially liked The Futureheads and Iron and Wine. lots to download here. thanks!

    • Thanks for the feedback. The Futureheads do an unbelievable cover of Kate Bush’s “Hounds of Love” on this same record (which is their self-titled debut). In fact, here it is.

  4. You used the word palimpsest!?


Leave a Reply

Categories

