Posted by: cousinbrandon | September 9, 2009

The “Music for My Ex” Mixes: The Fall of Music in Western Civilization, Vol. 1 & 2

The further back I go, the tougher it becomes to locate hyperlinks to music.  That is, YouTube folks tend to go back only so far.  That, or my taste in music can be diagrammed in terms of obscurity and age:  the younger I was, the more obscure my tastes.  Still, I don’t know if that’s entirely true.  Maybe my taste just seemed more obscure based on the fact that music was not as readily available via the Internet.  I mean, there was actually a time when I had to – gulp – read about bands in magazines and hear about music via good ol’ word-of-mouth.

Man, you kids today have it easy!

With that, I have to preface this batch of links below and warn you that some don’t link directly to the song in question.  For instance, Red Stars Theory’s “An Alarm Goes Off” links to the record in its entirety.  Readers (that’s you, incidentally) need to scroll down and click the “Play” icon to actually hear the track.  Sorry, but it’s the best I could do.

So, here it is, the next installment in the “Music for My Ex” Mixes series, The Fall of Music in Western Civilization, Volumes 1 & 2.  What’s more, you can look for the companion mix, The Rise of Music in Western Civilization, Volumes 1 & 2, in the near future.  I’m sure this is pretty straightforward, but Fall is, shall we say, composed of “softer” tracks, whereas Rise is its antithesis.  Enjoy.


The Fall of Music cover.


The Fall of Music inside art.

The Fall of Music in Western Civilization (Vol. 1):

1. Sam Prekop – “A Cloud to the Back”     
2. Nick Drake – “Pink Moon”         
3. Richard Buckner – “Ed’s Song
4. Chris Mills – “1,000 Blue Eyed Girls
5. Red Stars Theory – “A Sailor’s Warning
6. Guided By Voices – “When She Turns 50
7. Neutral Milk Hotel – “Naomi
8. Moviola – “It Only Rains On Saturday
9. Belle & Sebastian – “Expectations
10. Mojave 3 – “Some Kinda Angel
11. Quasi – “When I’m Dead
12. For Stars – “Don’t It Feel Good
13. Smog – “I Could Drive Forever

The Fall of Music in Western Civilization (Vol. 2):

1. Mogwai – “Burn Girl Prom Queen”        
2. Rufus Wainright – “Sally Ann”              
3. Billy Bragg & Wilco – “At My Window Sad and Lonely
4. Richard Buckner – “The Ocean Cliff Clearing
5. PW Long and Reelfoot – “Aw Bruiser
6. Varnaline – “Really Can’t Say
7. Tobin Sprout – “Carnival Boy
8. Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Raining in Darling
9. Wheat – “Roll the Road
10. Red Stars Theory – “An Alarm Goes Off

Considering the selections above, this, too, must have been a Chicago-born mix.  I distinctly remember listening to Bonnie “Prince” Billy’s I See A Darkness as well as Red Stars Theory’s Life In a Bubble Can Be Beautiful quite a bit while in the Windy City.  Furthermore, it wasn’t until my time in Chicago that my good pal Justin introduced me to Nick Drake’s Pink Moon and Bryter Layter.

With Fall on the horizon, a mix like this one might put you in the mood for the onset of post-Summer/pre-Winter depression, which in my mind is a delight.  That is, there’s something about depressing music that actually makes me feel good.  Is it any wonder I am the way I am?

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Leave a Reply

Categories

