Posted by: cousinbrandon | October 30, 2009

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Virgin, Vol. 1 & 2

Something dawned on me last night:  I’ve got all kinds of mixes that have nothing to do with ex-wives or the end of the year.  What’s more, I’ve got all kinds of mixes made by others that have nothing to do with ex-wives or the end of the year.  And seeing as how I so enjoy sharing music with the folks I love, I’m now offering you yet another series of mixes:  The “Miscellaneous” Mixes.  Most of these have no real “home,” so to speak, though I’ll most likely end up including Cousin Matt’s year-end mixes at some point, as they, too, are pretty stellar.

The first entry in the series comes from, well, the first mix I ever recorded to CD; i.e., the first mix I ever made using a computer.  Honestly, it opened up a whole new world to me.  Before then I operated in the typical old-school manner:  dual tape decks and a CD-drive.  CD to tape wasn’t so horrible, as I could still figure out track lengths and, therefore, determine exactly how much time was available per cassette.  Tape-to-tape, though, was a pain in the ass.  Not only didn’t I have a “counter,” so to speak, but mixes were dependent on the ability to pause and un-pause while simultaneously releasing the “Record” button on the other deck.  Furthermore, there were always those tense moments toward the end of a cassette’s side, when I anxiously watched to see if the tape to which I was recording would hold out and squeeze in that last track.  Typically, though, it wouldn’t, which meant I’d then have to rewind the “Record To” tape to the point of the last fully-recorded song, and from there hit “Record” to cover the incomplete track with nothing but hiss.  (Those of you who participated in the same undertaking know exactly what I’m referring to.  The rest of you merely think I’m a geek.  So be it.)

I recorded the aptly named Virgin, Vol. 1 & 2 during my first year at Emerson College (Fall 2001) on my roommate Brian’s computer.  (Cousin Matt went back the following year and created the cover art which, although somewhat crude in its design, is still rather impressive.  See, Cousin Matt doesn’t use any sort of design software to do his mix art; rather, he does everything in Word.  Or at least he did.  Me?  I’m not much better.  I use Publisher for all of my design stuff.  Sure, it’s a bit crude, but an absolute upgrade over Word.)  It took me a few minutes to figure out how it worked, but once I did I was immediately hooked.  Who knew the logistics of making a mix could be so easy?  That is not to imply, however, that putting a mix together is easy in the least; it isn’t.

(A couple notes on the mixes below.  First, I couldn’t find a link to “Hawaii,” a fantastic song performed by a former classmate and swell guy.  Second, the link to Clem Snide’s “Messiah Complex Blues” is frontman Eef Barzely singing it live along with a member of the audience.)

Virgin (Vol. 1):

1. Migala – “Primera Parada
2. Radiohead – “Creep (Acoustic)
3. Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – “Stood On Gold
4. The Shins – “The Celibate Life
5. Beulah – “Popular Mechanics for Lovers
6. Certainly, Sir – “Hawaii”
7. Mink Lungs – “Watch Yourself
8. Rob Pollard – “And I Don’t (So Now I Do)
9. The Waxwings – “Sleepy Head
10. Aloha – “Ferocious Love
11. Reindeer Section – “If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet
12. Sparklehorse – “Piano Fire
13. Guided By Voices – “Frostman
14. Clem Snide – “Let’s Explode
15. Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – “Her Hair Hangs Long
16. Mazarin – “Flying Arms For Driving
17. Jeff Mangum – “I Love How You Love Me
18. Stereolab – “Captain Easychord
19. Kingsbury Manx – “Rustic Stairs
20. Death Cab for Cutie – “Technicolor Girls
21. The Lesser Birds of Paradise – “The Middle States
22. Badly Drawn Boy – “Blistered Heart

Virgin (Vol. 2):

1. Air – “Talisman
2. Incredible Moses Leroy – “Beep Beep Love
3. Mink Lungs – “I Sell Love
4. The Shins – “Girl On the Wing
5. Superchunk – “Out On the Wing
6. The Strokes – “Barely Legal
7. The White Stripes – “Offend In Every Way
8. Spoon – “Car Radio
9. Modest Mouse – “Night On the Sun
10. Guided By Voices – “Want One?
11. Beulah – “Gravity’s Bringing Us Down
12. Mates of State – “Everyone Needs an Editor
13. Clem Snide – “Messiah Complex Blues
14. Silver Jews – “Horseleg Swastikas
15. Weezer – “Say It Ain’t So
16. Rob Pollard – “Slick as Snails
17. Giant Sand – “Shiver
18. Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – “Dead-Aid
19. Cat Power – “You May Know Him
20. Migala – “The Guilt
21. Richard Buckner – “Once

Well, there you go.  The first of many “Miscellaneous” mixes that are sure to warm your heart and dry your tears.  Or something.

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. Hi Brandon.
    This was a great reminder. I can’t believe I haven’t bought Bright Flight yet. Thank you for that. I actually just listened to the Natural Bridge for the first time in quite a while and ran it through a second time. I enjoyed it so much.

    I also wanted to note how awesome it is that you included the tracks from Speak Kindly of Your Local Volunteer Fire Department. Even including GBV I think it’s the best record that Robert Pollard has put his fingerprints on. Great, great record.
    As always it seems, all of the tracks I know I like, and I look forward to diving into the stuff I don’t. Thanks for posting these tapes man.

    Where would you recommend starting with Sparklehorse?

    • Glad you enjoyed the mix, Sir. I, too, am a big fan of Speak Kindly of Your Local Volunteer Fire Department, but I still have to cast my vote for GBV’s Alien Lanes. However, I think I concur that Speak Kindly is Pollard’s best non-GBV work.

      As far as Sparklehorse goes, I think it’s a toss-up between It’s A Wonderful Life and Good Morning Spider a close second. If you end up enjoying Wonderful Life, try to get your hands on the collection of videos Mark Linkus created for the record. There’s one in particular shot, I believe, in the Czech Republic that’s incredible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

