Posted by: cousinbrandon | November 24, 2009

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: go with the flow

go with the flow is one my favorite Cousin Matt mixes, mainly because it’s all over the place.  I don’t mean that it’s necessarily eclectic and doesn’t work as a cohesive mix; rather, it comprises two incredibly distinctive sides, “Go!” and “The Flow.”  Without even listening to the mix, all one needs to do is examine the tracklist to see that the first side includes 26 tracks compared to a mere 16 on “Side 2.”  One shouldn’t assume that more songs equal upbeat music, whereas fewer songs equates to downbeat ballads.  In this case, though, that pretty much seems to be the case. 

As “Go!” suggests, this side is busting with garage and retro rock, exemplified by bands like Queens of the Stone Age, At the Drive-In, System of the Down, The White Stripes, The Hives, Rocket from the Crypt, and The Strokes.  In other words, it’s got 2001 written all over it.  Interesting, then, that “The Flow” kicks off with Aesop Rock.  Yes, “Night Light” isn’t exactly “club” music, but hip-hop of any kind to open the second side is a rather interesting choice.

As is the case with his last mix, the left side of the “sleeve” below represents the inside cover, whereas the right side of the sleeve represents the front cover of the mix:

Just a reminder on the songs below.  As is typically the case with some of these mixes, certain “tracks” only like to 30 seconds’ worth of music.  Again, with iTunes and such, if you like it, buy it.  Additionally, I wanted to point out the strangeness of including a song like “Nefarious,” simply because it appeared on Spoon’s Telephono, released way back in 1996.  In 2001, Spoon released arguably my favorite Spoon record, Girls Can Tell.  So, what gives, Cousin Matt?

go with the flow (Go!):

1. Queens of the Stone Age – “You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire
2. At the Drive-In – “One Armed Scissor
3. System of the Down – “Toxicity
4. Minus the Bear – “Lemurs, Man, Lemurs
5. Volta do Mar – “Another Air Strike Called Love
6. The Battles – “Lycanthropy”
7. Stephen Malkmus – “Troubbble
8. Ex Models – “She Blinded Me with Science
9. Grandaddy – “A.M. 180
10. Clem Snide – “Ice Cube
11. Rocket from the Crypt – “Carnee Voodoo
12. Sahara Hotnights – “Alright Alright
13. The Hives – “Main Offender
14. The Strokes – “Someday
15. The White Stripes – “Fell in Love with a Girl
16. Ben Kweller – “Wasted & Ready
17. The Waxwings – “Keeping the Sparks
18. Britt Daniel/Bright Eyes – “You Get Yours
19. Reubens Accomplice – “We’re Not as Big as We Feel
20. Arlo – “Stoned
21. Spoon – “Nefarious
22. Enon – “Pleasure and Privelige
23. C Average – “Parchmens Farm
24. The Mink Lungs – “Peep Show
25. Landspeedrecord! – “Internet Killer
26. Rye Coalition – “Iron Fist in Velvet Glove

go with the flow (The Flow):

1. Aesop Rock – “Night Light
2. Ativin – “Scissors
3. Interpol – “A Time to Be Small
4. Spiritualized – “Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
5. Radiohead – “How to Disappear Completely
6. Departure Lounge – “Tubular Belgians in My Goldfield
7. Lenola – “Black Eyes
8. Capitol K – “Pillow
9. Grandaddy – “Everything Beautiful is Far Away
10. The Black Heart Procession – “A Heart Like Mine
11. Tristeza – “A Little Distance
12. kilowatthours – “Almost Alright”
13. Aereogramme – “Motion
14. Volta do Mar – “Lengua Pivo
15. Dntel – “(This is) the Dream of Evan and Chan
16. The Dismemberment Plan – “Ellen and Ben

Cousin Matt puts a ridiculous amount of time, thought and energy into each and every compilation, so consider yourselves blessed, you ingrates.  In fact, back in 2004, Cousin Matt showed up at my wedding with no less than seven different mixes he made just for the occasion.  And even though the marriage was a failure, the mixes hold up.  Still, Cousin Matt, I blame you!

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. Damn – my favorite part of this mix was the back cover. You should put that shit on as well.

    So, yeah, this was my first “themed” mix CD – with the first side being “rockers” (shudder….I hate that word) and the second side being more spacey/languid tracks. I definitely had a “sound” in mind for the second side.

    Anyhoo, back then I usually made the mixes with music I recently acquired, which means that I got Telefono late. And I guess I didn’t think anything on Girls Can Tell was peppy enough. Also, that song by “The Battles” for those who are curious, is not the instrumental band Battles. It’s some other random band I stumbled upon back then.

    • Don’t worry; I’ll get the back cover up there at some point.

      And by the way, if you EVER speak poorly of Girls Can Tell again, then you, Sir, are dead to me.

  2. Hi guys.
    There are some really great ones on here. I love that Spiritualized song as a song that was a really pleasant surprise to see listed. I was just thinking about that song yesterday. Also, Stoned is my favorite track from Stab the Unstopable Hero.

    Wasn’t sure, but in case you thought it was interesting I thought I would throw up this demo of Troubbble that I found back in the Napster days.

    • Ah, the demo is fantastic. Love the Casio-effect. Good stuff.

      And, yes, the Spiritualized track should truly go down as one of the all-time great tracks. Not sure why, but I find it haunting, yet pleasantly so.

      • It’s funny that you say that. I actually typed mostly the same response about an hour or so before I ended up posting it because I wanted to make and include the youtube video and I said basically the same thing about the Spiritualized tune. I think it’s the sort of waviness to it. I put that song on the first mix that I made for my now wife before we started dating and it was at a pretty rough patch for her. It kicked off the cd and she later told me that hearing it for the first time prompted a big, kind of grabbing at the soul kind of cry. She thinks it’s just flat out sad, and I get that, but I catch this sort of undertone of hope in there. I don’t know. Great, great tune.

  3. I think that’s a great way of looking at it, WakingUpWithRobots. I mean, sometimes the “flat-out saddest” music is actually the most hopeful. I used to get a lot of flak for listening to “depressing” music by folks like Richard Buckner and Bonnie “Prince” Billy. Downtempo, sure, but there was something so completely freeing and “true” in the music and lyrics that actually made me feel better about myself and my situation. It’s what I usually thought of as “Rainy Sunday” music, and I still adore it.

    • That’s really well said and I completely agree. I think there is a lot to be said about the comfort in being able to relate to a piece of music. You mix that with the fact that many of the saddest songs I know are also counted as some of the most beautiful ones… I don’t know. I’m having trouble tieing the knot, but I guess what I’m getting at is there is a whole feel there that doesn’t require any moping and can be incredibly comforting, even promising in a way. “Rainy Sunday” music is actually a very perfect way to put it.

      Sorry, my brain is fried like it was Friday or at least Thursday. No thanks to last nights Ny-Quil and the stuffy head that prompted it I’m sure.

      In case this ends up being the last response before it, I hope you guys have a really nice holiday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

