Posted by: cousinbrandon | January 11, 2010

Hai(ku) Fidelity: The Week in Twitter Haiku

No, it’s not a nod to an old hi-fi (though I suppose, indirectly, it is); rather, it’s an allusion to Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, one of my favorite books of this generation. And even if this sounds hard to believe, it’s quite possible I prefer the John Cusack film over the the book, which is such a rarity. I mean, when is the movie ever better than the book? (Hmmmm, that’s a list I need to get working on. Thoughts? Hit me up in the comments section below.) High Fidelity is one of those movies I’ll stop on and watch no matter where it is in the film. I’ve seen it a million times (and, no, I didn’t say I’ve “literally” seen it a million times, so shut the fuck up), and every time I can’t help but feel like I’m watching my on-screen biography. A depressed, list-making, self-confessed, mix tape-making, Chi-town music geek struggling to keep the woman he loves while examining his past relationships in order to understand his future. Nah, that doesn’t sound at all familiar. And by the way, there’s a great scene in the book that’s cut from the final version of the movie, in which Cusack’s character goes to the home of Beverly D’Angelo to purchase her cheating husband’s record collection. It’s a fantastic moment in the book that I suppose didn’t translate as well on film, though I think it’s likely on the DVD’s deleted scenes. Good stuff.

This installment of haikus covers Monday, January 4, 2010 through Sunday, January 10, 2010, giving mention to the first work week of the year, winter, booze, Shakespeare, Woody Allen and hangovers. As always, you can find this collection here every Monday, or go on over and subscribe to my Twitter feed (@CousinBrandon or http://www.twitter.com/cousinbrandon). Really, any decision you make is fine by me, provided you do so with a kind note written on personalized stationery.

Work Week Number One of 2010 Haiku (January 4, 2010)

The first Monday of
the new year always smells of
sodomy and shame.

My Bosses Clearly Don’t Respect Me Haiku (January 5, 2010)

The suggestion box
continues to go unread.
Still no kegs and eggs.

I Can Only Take So Much Winter Haiku (January 6, 2010)

Now that Christmas is
over, let’s make with the warm
weather already!

I Spent Last Night at Home with My Friends Haiku (January 7, 2010)

Many thanks, High Life,
Cabernet and Flintstones. It
was a gay old time.

Pre-Sunrise With a Little Help From Shakespeare Haiku (January 8, 2010)

That light through yonder
window illuminates my
neighbor’s naked junk.

What I Learned From Watching Woody Allen’s “Husbands & Wives” Haiku (January 9, 2010)

Juliette Lewis
managed to make ONE movie
in which I liked her.

Personal Request to My Hangover Haiku (January 10, 2010)

Listen, Hangover,
I will ask you nicely to
use your inside voice.

That’ll do it for this installment. Until next week, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. Movies (just as good) as books:

    The Princess Bride by William Goldman
    Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
    Battle Royale by Koushun Takami
    The Shining by Stephen King (Kubrick film version)


Leave a Reply

Categories

