Posted by: cousinbrandon | January 12, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: The Best of 2006

So it would appear Cousin Matt is still working on his 2009 mixes, which is fine. But I say this, Cousin Matt, I’m almost out of your old material, so get crackin’, Sonny! In the meantime, here’s his take on his Best of 2006 compilation:

This was the year Voxtrot brought its brand of soft, inoffensive rock into my world. Problem is, it came by way of two EPs. And the unwritten rule has always been that EPs don’t qualify. But these were too good not to be recognized. So an exception was made. Two EPs, to me, equaled a full length.

Another useless morsel for you to chew on – this was the last year I had my top 10 albums on the cover. In 07, I expanded it to 12. No lie.

Front cover – Top 10 Albums of 2006:

 #10 – The Trials of Van Occupanther by Midlake
#9 – Hello by The Capes
#8 – Mothers, Sisters, Daughters & Wives / Your Biggest Fan by Voxtrot
#7 – It’s Never Been Like That by Phoenix
#6 – Oxytocin by Snowglobe
#5 – The Loon by Tapes ‘n Tapes
#4 – Everything All the Time by Band of Horses
#3 – Night Ripper by Girl Talk
#2 – Gypsum Strings by Oakley Hall
#1 – The Crane Wife by The Decemberists

I’m not going to mince words. Cousin Matt’s 2006 Best of compilation is arguably my least favorite of any mix he’s ever made. And considering the number of mixes he’s made, that’s saying something. I found myself re-typing all of these tracks, and for the most part realizing one of two things in the process: 1) I have zero recollection of that song; or 2) I hate that song. I mean, this mix simply wasn’t memorable. Sure, there are a couple great songs, such as The Capes’ “Super Girls” and The Thermals’ “Here’s Your Future,” but all in all it’s just not so great. I mean, I think his top 10 records alone is enough to suggest it wouldn’t be his best mix. Looking at it now, I will agree that The Loon, Everything All the Time, Oxytocin and Night Ripper are all really good records. Still, none of those was the record of the year. That honor, friends, belongs to my beloved The Body, The Blood, The Machine by The Thermals, which I’ve mentioned many times on this blog.

In comparing Cousin Matt’s mixes to my 2006 mixes, Tyger and Lamb, we have only two – two – songs in common: “The Funeral” and “Super Girls.” Now, that alone should indicate that he and I not only failed to see eye-to-eye in 2006, but that I wouldn’t find his mixes all that impressive. This does not, in fact, suggest that my picks were “more right” or anything; rather, it implies that my picks were wildly different. Okay, better. More right. I win.

As is always the case with Cousin Matt’s year-end mixes, this is a “countdown” as opposed to a compilation. (Again, Track 1, in this case, is his 32nd favorite song of the year.)


The Best of 2006 front cover.


The Best of 2006 back cover.

The Best of 2006 (Disc 1):

1. Deadboy & The Elephantmen – “Stop, I’m Already Dead
2. Be Your Own Pet – “October, First Account
3. Tokyo Police Club – “Nature of the Experiment
4. Camera Obscura – “Let’s Get Out of This Country
5. Annuals – “Dry Clothes
6. Cold War Kids – “Robbers
7. Oh No! Oh My! – “I Love You All the Time
8. Margot & The Nuclear So and So’s – “Skeleton Key
9. Belle & Sebastian – “Funny Little Frog
10. The Capitol Years – “As the Terror Dances Your Way
11. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Way Out
12. Les Savy Fav – “Raging in the Plague Age
13. Wolfmother – “Joker and the Thief
14. The Scattered Pages – “Deadpan Dirge
15. Ladyhawk – “Come in Brave
16. Midlake – “Head Home
17. Neko Case – “Star Witness
18. Oakley Hall – “If I Was in El Dorado

The Best of 2006 (Disc 2):

1. Comets On Fire – “Lucifer’s Memory
2. The Black Heart Procession – “GPS
3. Peter Bjorn and John – “Paris 2004
4. The Hold Steady – “Chips Ahoy
5. The Thermals – “Here’s Your Future
6. Tapes ‘n Tapes – “Jakov’s Suite
7. Voxtrot – “Soft and Warm
8. Shearwater – “Hail Mary
9. Augie March – “One Crowded Hour
10. Snowglobe – “At Times a Nightmare
11. Phoenix – “Courtesy Laughs
12. The Capes – “Super Girls
13. Band of Horses – “The Funeral
14. The Decemberists – “The Island

And, there you have it. Am I being overly critical of this one? Again, it still put most mixes to shame, but it’s not a Cousin Matt-caliber compilation as far as I’m concerned. I’m allowed to be critical, incidentally. It’s my blog, fuckers!

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. I think this is your sneaky little way to get me to reply since I hadn’t commented in a while. I’m onto you.

    It’s funny, I personally still really dig this mix, but I wouldn’t be surprised if others had your opinion. Sure, I guess the first disc is a little uneven, but sometimes that’s gonna happen when you’re ranking the tracks.

    I always liked how it started out (disc 1) — the Tokyo Police Club song still gets me to drive fast and play bad steering-wheel air guitar. I also like the closing of that disc (tracks 14-18).

    Disc 2 has no clunkers, but I know some folks (purists, maybe) would be opposed to the presence of a 12-minute song. At least it was at the end. But it was essential. For a classic-rock enthusiast like myself, that song was masterful.

    If I had to guess, because I know I’m right, the tracks that ruined this one for you included: the Margot song, Wolfmother, PB&J, and Phoenix. I assume there were others.

    Incidentally, the 2006 Phoenix release was an underappreciated gem. The new one that everyone’s gushing over is decent (and, ahem, overproduced), but it doesn’t compare to “It’s Never Been Like That”.

  2. […] Well, there you go. Cousin Matt’s Best of 2007 compilation. Solid as always, despite my take on his 2006 mix. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

