Posted by: cousinbrandon | March 2, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Circa 2009

You’re not going to believe this, but Cousin Matt and I aren’t the only ones who make year-end compilations. I’m not quite sure when he started, but my pal Mike – the kid who’s like a younger brother to me, the kid who did this to me – followed suit and started churning out Best of… mixes of his own. Seeing as how I just received his 2009 mix a few days ago, I thought I’d pay him tribute on this here blog.

Mike and I have similar taste in music, yet entirely more disparate than, say, me and Cousin Matt. Every year I find many like-minded choices between the two of us, yet Mike always manages to come up with a shit-ton of bands and songs that I’ve never heard of. With that, he also manages to come up with bands and songs that, frankly, I don’t care for. Looking over his tracklist, we shared eight bands/performers (Japandroids, Ida Maria, Jay Reatard, Grizzly Bear, We Were Promised Jetpacks, Cymbals Eat Guitars, Bill Callahan and Bon Iver), yet only four songs. Now, I take issue with Mike’s inclusion of “Black River Killer” by Blitzen Trapper for two reasons: first, it was included on their 2008 release, Furr; second, and more importantly, the song sounds entirely too much like Tom Petty’s “Last Dance with Mary Jane,” a song that infuriates me to no end.


Circa 2009: Disc 1.


Circa 2009: Disc 2.

[Note: the cover art features the photography of our mutual friend, Louise Ingalls Sturges, whose awesome blog you can find here.]

Circa 2009 (Disc 1):

1. We All Have Hooks For Hands – “Made Up of Tiny Lights
2. Japandroids – “Sovereignty
3. Ida Maria – “Oh My God
4. Jay Reatard – “Wounded
5. The Fucking Eagles – “Gentlemen’s Blues
6. Hotels – “Kite Flight
7. Grizzly Bear – “Two Weeks
8. Mt. St. Helens Vietnam Band – “Who’s Asking
9. We Were Promised Jetpacks – “Quiet Little Voices
10. Fruit Bats – “The Ruminant Band
11. The Fresh & Onlys – “Shattered Moon”
12. The Blakes – “So Easy
13. The Dodos – “This is a Business
14. Thao with the Get Down Stay Down – “Bag of Hammers
15. Holiday Shores – “Bradley Bear
16. Say Hi – “Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh
17. The Builders and the Butchers – “Barcelona
18. Willowz – “Destruction
19. Port O’ Brien – “My Will is Good
20. Cymbals Eat Guitars – “Wind Pheonix (Proper Name)

Circa 2009 (Disc 2):

1. Big Spider’s Back – “Warped
2. The Crayon Field – “Mirror Ball
3. Holiday Shores – “Experiencer
4. Grizzly Bear – “Cheerleader
5. Atlas Sound – “Quick Canal
6. Bill Callahan – “All Thoughts are Prey to Some Beasts
7. Akron/Family – “The River
8. Hallelujah the Hills – “The Echo Sequence
9. Grand Hallways – “Raindrops
10. Califone – “Funeral Singers
11. Thao with the Get Down Stay Down – “Know Better Learn Faster
12. Grand Archives – “Left for All the Strays
13. Bon Iver – “Blood Bank
14. Mt. St. Helens Vietnam Band – “Inuit” 
15. Clem Snide – “Me No
16. Mostly Dimes – “Perfect Secretary”
17. Blitzen Trapper – “Black River Killer
18. The Dodos – “Fables

Fortunately I’ve got some of Mike’s past efforts laying around the house, so I’ll be sure to get them on the blog ASA & P.

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

NOTE: I would be remiss if I failed to give thanks to my pal and frequent blog commenter WUWRobots, who was kind enough to not only send me a bevy of CDs all the way from California, but happened to include a really swell mix (which may just make its way onto the blog at some point). Among the songs on the mix was a track called “Rebound” by a band called If I Had a Hi-Fi. Ironically, when I contacted WUWRobots to ask about the CDs and that song in particular, he pointed out that If I Had a Hi-Fi was actually his old band, and he “slipped” that track on there for shits and giggles. Well, you form your own opinion, but am I the only one who thinks it could easily have been record by Pavement? Again, WUWRobots, thanks so much for your effor and particularly turning me on to such a great track, which you can check out here. Also, you can find WUWRobots over on Twitter (@Waking_Robots).

Responses

  1. Thanks a lot Brandon. You’re the best man. I’m really glad you like the track that much, and the mix in general. Thanks.

    I’m kind of intrigued by this mix. I just heard a song by Thao a week or two ago and that record has been on my “to buy” list, but I haven’t arrived at it yet. I like The Ruminant Band song (the record is a couple spots below Thao on my list) and I forgot that the Dodos put one out last year, which is nifty. I’m into it.

    It’s funny. I had no idea Two Weeks was in a car commercial until I got really excited to show it to my wife (I knew she would really like it) and apparently VW totally stole my thunder. That song, kind of like Snow Days just gets better and better with every listen.

    Thanks again Brandon. Have a good one man.

  2. Thanks CB. Blow me.

    In response to WUWRobots, Both the 2009 release “No Better Learn Faster” and the 2008 release “We Brave Bee Stings and All” by Thao with the Get Down Stay Down are great albums and one that should be in your collection.

    The Dodo’s “Time To Die” is one of the more over looked albums of last year. A great album in my opinion.

    A lot of the other bands are Seattle based bands (Where I live and drink) and contemplated making a Seattle Circa rather than mix the two. Maybe next year.

    Anywho, thanks for the write up CB. Lets go get a drink.

    • Thanks for the endorsement Crotch. I was going to pick up a couple of records when I get paid next week. I’ll make sure that Thao is one of them, probably that Dodos one too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

