Posted by: cousinbrandon | June 1, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: John Locke

Photobucket

You see that? Sure you do. That’s an illustration of an erect wang. Why do I share this with you? Because my good pal, Mike, was kind enough to include that in the package he sent me containing his lastest mix, John Locke. Now, I’m sure you rember Mike, the guy responsible for mixes like this one. Well, not only is Mike a swell fella and a little brother to me, but he’s got a gift for the arts, as clearly demonstrated in the drawing above.

But I digress. I haven’t gathered you here to discuss Mike’s visual masterpiece, but his audio one. Like me, Mike is a huge fan of LOST. And knowing that I am also a music snob with tastes similar to Mike, he took it upon himself to create a mix in honor of the man who I’ll assume is his favorite character on the show, John Locke. So why then do I post this to my blog? Because the concept is fucking brilliant! I sincerely applaud Mike for his effort. I mean, holy hell! What’s more, I’m absolutely and completely jealous I didn’t come up with this idea myself. Hell, next thing you know I’ll be trying to shit out a Ben Linus mix. (Unless, of course, Mike you’ve already begun the process? And by the way, nobody wants to hear a Driveshaft song, so you can forget that right here and now.)

Just a few notes on some of the songs below. First, Modest Mouse’s “Buttons to Push the Buttons” is a fantastic track from, I’d say, their greatest release not named This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About. “Buttons” is off Interstate 8, an oft-overlooked record as it was a limited release and wrongly labeled as an EP. I urge you to give it a listen at your earliest convenience, as it’s fantastic. The other note I want to make it is just how amazed I am at how spot-on some of these song choices are in reference to Locke. Seriously, it’s downright uncanny. I have to think there are plenty of songs Mike missed, but let’s face it: it’s a mix CD. You can only fit so many songs. If you think of any other contenders, by all means leave them in the Comments section.

Photobucket
John Locke front cover.

Photobucket
John Locke interior art.

John Locke:

1. Okkervil River – “Black Sheep Boy
2. Starlight Mints – “Paralyzed
3. The Cave Singers – “Helen
4. The Shins – “Australia
5. Atlas Sound with Noah Lennox – “Walkabout
6. Pavement – “Hit the Plane Down
7. Devendra Banhardt – “An Island
8. Modest Mouse – “Beach Side Property
9. Guided By Voices – “My Valuable Hunting Knife
10. Guided By Voices – “Bomb In the Bee-Hive
11.  Modest Mouse – “Buttons to Push the Buttons
12. Jethro Tull – “Dharma for One
13. Frank Black – “Los Angeles”     
14. Pearl Jam – “Jeremy
15. Husker Du – “Standing By the Sea
16. Joy Division – “Candidate
17. Bob Marley – “Crazy Baldheads
18. Frank Black – “Men in Black
19. Modest Mouse – “Perfect Disguise
20. Bright Eyes – “Smoke Without Fire
21. The Misfits – “Die Monster Die

Well, that’ll do it for this stab at Locke and the rest of LOST pals. Again, thanks for the mix, Mike. Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. This is very cool. Not only are the songs (at least the ~half or so that I know) really, really great selections (special note, Bomb in the Bee-Hive deserves a big thumbs up. I love that tune), but very clever. Very cool idea, really well executed.

    I’m also glad to have an entry point for the Cave Singers whose name I’ve seen around and I’ve been meaning to give a listen to.

    • As I said above, WUWRobots, I’m so completely irritated I didn’t think of doing this myself. With that, my Ana Lucia mix should be amazing!

  2. Just wait until I release Walt JR ;0)

    • Release him from where? Your pants?

  3. I should name a mix “David” after Jack’s son and have it be blank. har har har.

    • Zing! Or you could name one “Nikki and Paulo” and fill it with nothing but shit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

