Posted by: cousinbrandon | June 8, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Uppers and Downers

Not only is this the return of the “Miscellaneous Mixes” series, but it comes compliments of an all new contributor: my girlfriend. Like me, she’s a music nerd. And even though we like a lot of the same music, we seem to dislike a good deal of each other’s music, too. In fact, the last time we saw one another we nearly exchanged iPods, only I nixed the idea once I realized she’d probably throw mine against a wall and smash it to pieces within two days. But I digress. The great thing about her mixes is that they’re not only incredibly thoughtful and well-planned (as any good mix must be), but she’s awfully crafty in terms of her cover art. Whereas I create my cover art online, she goes collage/ransom note style and cuts out images from magazines and postcards. She’s pretty awesome, really; granted, she’s my lady. What else would you expect?

Uppers and Downers is, as you might imagine, drug-based. The former is, well, upbeat drug tunes, whereas the latter is pretty chilled out. A couple notes on some of the tracks below. First, and with all due respect to her, I just can’t stand “24 Hour Party People.” It drives me out of my mind. (Please don’t throw lye in my face, lady.) Second, the version of “Here Comes a Regular” linked to below is Paul Westerberg performing it on his own as opposed to the actual Replacements version. Third, on some of my own mixes, I’ve included “Bananas and Blow,” “Wasted & Ready,” “Drunk By Noon,” “How’s My Drinking?” and “Must’ve Been High.” The weird thing, though, is that I never made a drug-themed mix. Hmmm. Finally, just yesterday I posted my latest collection of Twitter Haiku, referencing Wu-Tang’s “As High As Wu-Tang Gets.” Interestingly enough, I almost went with Ella Fitzgerald’s “When I Get Low I Get High.” With that, enjoy her kick-ass mixes. Smoke ‘em if you got ‘em.

Photobucket
Uppers cover art.

Photobucket
Downers cover art.

Uppers:

1. The National – “All the Wine
2. Dramarama – “Anything, Anything (I’ll Give You)
3. Happy Mondays – “24 Hour Party People
4. Brazilian Girls – “Pussy
5. Sublime – “40 Oz. to Freedom
6. Ween – “Bananas and Blow
7. The Dead Milkmen – “Smokin’ Banana Peels
8. Ben Kweller – “Wasted & Ready
9. Supersuckers – “A Good Night for My Drinkin’
10. Butthole Surfers – “Goofy’s Concern
11.  Queens of the Stone Age – “Feel Good Hit of the Summer
12. Sonic Youth – “Junkie’s Promise
13. The Make-Up – “Blue is Beautiful
14. Crystal Castles – “Alice Practice
15. Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – “White Lines
16. Hot Chip – “Over and Over
17. Metric – “Gold Guns Girls
18. Har Mar Superstar – “Tall Boy
19. MC Chris – “I Want Candy
20. T.I. – “Whatever You Like
21. Ella Fitzgerald – “When I Get Low I Get High

Downers:

1. The Replacements – “Here Comes a Regular
2. The Pogues – “A Pair of Brown Eyes
3. Cat Power – “Moonshiner
4. Phosphorescent – “Reasons to Quit
5. Willie Nelson – “I Gotta Get Drunk
6. Johnny Cash – “Sunday Morning Coming Down
7. The Handsome Family – “Drunk By Noon
8. Elliott Smith – “Strung Out Again
9. The Velvet Underground – “Heroin
10. The Kinks – “Alcohol
11. The Magnetic Fields – “Too Drunk to Dream
12. Guided By Voices – “How’s My Drinking?
13. Quasi – “Drunken Tears
14. Maria Taylor – “Xanax
15. Pulp – “Sorted for E’s & Wizz
16. Serge Gainsbourg – “Intoxicated Man
17. Marvin Gaye – “Flyin’ High (In the Friendly Sky)
18. Rodriguez – “Sugar Man
19. Supersuckers – “Must’ve Been High
20. Wilco – “Handshake Drugs

Well, that’s all for this installment. Other mixes from the lady are in the pipeline, so stay tuned. Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD 

Responses

  1. Nirvana – MV

  2. Compliments to your lady Brandon. There’s some really good stuff on here. As per usual, I only know about half, but I like what I know.

    It may be a weird selection for me, and I’m not a big Sublime guy in general, but I dig the choice of 40 Oz to Freedom (actually that record in general is pretty good). I’ve always really liked that tune. Always makes me think of road tripping up to Davis to hang out with a couple of friends at their college. I also really dig Handshake Drugs and Strung Out Again. Love the Elliott Smith.

    On a side note, 3 songs into the new Delta Spirit and so far so good. Especially considering some really high expectations.

    • Well, sir, I’m sure she’ll be pleased to read your positive feedback (provided she reads the feedback).

      And by the way, I didn’t even realize Delta Spirit released a new record?! I’m stoked.

      • Yeah. It came out today. It started off with a bang, and now that it’s a little deeper I think it’s going to take a little digesting, but I think I’m going to give it a couple spins today. There’s definitely some good stuff for a first impression. Up to the last two tracks I’m pretty pleased.


Leave a Reply

Categories

