Posted by: cousinbrandon | June 22, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Wake Up! and Sleepytime

I now present yet another mix created by my lady, Michelle. Again, she was responsible for the kick-ass excess-themed mixes, Uppers and Downers. If memory serves, this was the first mix she made for me about six months ago. And, like my Best of… mixes, she utilized the whole “one loud disc, one quiet disc” format I so greatly enjoy. Also like me, Michelle is a horrible sleeper. She’s got the insomnia in spades, coupled with awful migraines. So, yeah, we’re quite the pair. With that, though, she put together a “morning” and “evening” mix, which I can’t help but see in terms of sleeping habits, or my lack thereof.

Just a few notes on her selections. Any woman who includes Neutral Milk Hotel on a mix has pretty much guaranteed that she’s not only got my full attention, but that I’ve constructed a shrine in her honor. Furthermore, let’s take a quick gander at some of the bands she’s included: Animal Collective, Of Montreal, WHY?, Beirut, Metric, The Mountain Goats, Bon Iver, Cat Power, Smog, Modest Mouse, Yo La Tengo and Mogwai?! Yeah, this should do me just fine. And, look, as I said the last time, she and I have a lot of crossover taste, yet a lot of disparity in our musical preferences, as well. For instance, I despise Phoenix. Sorry, but no matter how many times I try, I just can’t get into them. On the other hand, I finally got around to watching The Devil and Daniel Johnston because of her, and it is a goddamn fantastic documentary. I was never a fan of his music until I watched the film, so I implore you to give it a look.

Unfortunately, Wake Up! And Sleepytime are sans cover art, so you’ll just have to use the power of imagination to come up with something. Enjoy.

Wake Up!:

1. Phoenix – “Armistice (YACHT Remix)
2. CSS – “Jager Yoga
3. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Dull Life
4. Royal Bangs – “My Car is Haunted
5. Har Mar Superstar – “Tall Boy
6. Kid Sister – “Right Hand Hi
7. Passion Pit – “Sleepyhead
8. Animal Collective – “Summertime Clothes
9. Of Montreal – “Gallery Piece
10. Tilly and the Wall – “Beat Control
11. WHY? – “Rubber Traits
12. Neutral Milk Hotel – “Holland, 1945
13. Beirut – “Scenic World
14. Metric – “Help I’m Alive
15. The Blow – “Fists Up!
16. Daniel Johnston – “Living Life
17. Mott the Hoople – “All the Way from Memphis
18. The Mountain Goats – “Dance Music
19. The Swell Season – “Feeling the Pull

Sleepytime:

1. Broadcast – “Corporeal
2. Metric – “Twilight Galaxy
3. My Bloody Valentine – “Sometimes
4. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Skeletons
5. The National – “Secret Meeting
6. The American Analog Set – “Punk as Fuck
7. The Swell Season – “Sleeping
8. Spiritualized – “Lay It Down Slow
9. Bon Iver – “The Wolves (Act 1 & 2)
10. Cat Power – “I Found a Reason
11. Smog – “To Be of Use
12. Iron & Wine – “Jezebel
13. The Watson Twins – “Just Like Heaven
14. Modest Mouse – “Sleepwalkin’
15. Yo La Tengo – “Our Way to Fall
16. Mogwai – “Friend of the Night

Well, that’s it for this time. Believe it or not, I’ve got at least three or four more mixes from the lady raring to go. Also, she and I have discussed a Summer mix project, so we’ll see how that goes. Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD 

Responses

  1. Thanks, Yoko.

    • How dare you…!


Leave a Reply

Categories

