Posted by: cousinbrandon | July 6, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Say Yes, Hot Coals and Broken

Today’s trifecta of riches comes once again from my lady, Michelle. Say Yes, Hot Coals and Broken range from upbeat to downright crushing. I didn’t want to do a lot of intro for this installment and instead let you instead drink it all in like so much goodness. I will, however, add just a couple comments, because I’m such a talkative ass. Of all the songs/bands I didn’t know from her mixes, I think my favorite might be “True Affection” by The Blow. It’s quiet and understated. It’s essentially female vocals over finger snapping and a Casio. That’s it. Somehow, though, it’s a total stand-out. Additionally, of the bands included, I had never heard them, Friendly Fires, Secret Stars, Anya Marina, and MSTRKRFT. That is, I had never even heard of them, let alone heard their music. Crazy.

I also wanted to add a side-note that I have yet another Guided By Voices compilation to post, as well as a kick-ass Pavement mix. Both are courtesy of Cousin Matt and one (if not both) will be up this week. With that, I’m shutting up now. Enjoy.


Say Yes cover art.


Hot Coals cover art.


Broken cover art.

Say Yes:

1. Hot Chip – “Wrestlers
2. Friendly Fires – “Jump In the Pool
3. Islands – “Joggin Gorgeous Summer
4. Beirut – “Cherbourg
5. The Blow – “True Affection
6. Secret Stars – “The Mode-E”
7. Lamb – “Gorecki
8. The National – “Slow Show
9. Ben Lee – “Apple Candy
10. Ben Kweller – “Sundress
11. Handsome Furs – “All We Want, Baby, Is Everything
12. Wilco – “Leave Me (Like You Found Me)
13. Aimee Mann – “Deathly
14. Blitzen Trapper – “Shoulder Full of You
15. Iron & Wine – “The Trapeze Swinger
16. Elliott Smith – “Say Yes
17. Apollo Sunshine – “Phone Sex
18. Animal Collective – “Mouth Wooed Her
19. Devendra Banhart – “Insect Eyes

Hot Coals:

1. The Fiery Furnaces – “I’m Waiting to Know You
2. Beirut – “My Wife, Lost In the Wild
3. Yo La Tengo – “Don’t Have to Be So Sad
4. The Magnetic Fields – “Two Characters In Search Of a Country Song
5. Mirah – “Cold Cold Water
6. Bjork – “I See Who You Are
7. Stars – “Elevator Love Letter
8. She & Him – “I Was Made for You
9. The Starlight Mints – “Pages
10. Of Montreal – “First Time High (Reconstructionist Remix of An Eluardian Instance)
11. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Hysteric
12. Weezer – “O Girlfriend
13. The Thermals – “I Called Out Your Name
14. Mates of State – “Everyone Needs an Editor
15. Sleater-Kinney – “I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
16. The Knife – “Heartbeats
17. The Afghan Whigs – “Somethin’ Hot
18. The Make-Up – “Hot Coals
19. Pulp – “This Is Hardcore
20. Anya Marina – “Whatever You Like

Broken:

1. MSTRKRFT – “Heartbreaker (feat. John Legend)
2. Ra Ra Riot – “Ghost Under Rocks
3. Metric – “Calculation Theme
4. Hot Chip – “Made In the Dark
5. Headphones – “I Never Wanted You
6. Stars – “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead
7. Pinback – “Boo
8. Grizzly Bear – “Knife
9. Beck – “Guess I’m Doing Fine
10. Smog – “Left Only With Love
11. Cat Power – “Good Woman
12. Bon Iver – “Skinny Love
13. The Microphones – “I Felt Your Shape
14. Liz Phair – “Divorce Song
15. The Mountain Goats – “No Children
16. The Decemberists – “A Record Year for Rainfall
17. Frightened Rabbit – “Poke
18. Pedro the Lion – “Bad Diary Days
19. Sleater-Kinney – “Good Things
20. Jawbreaker – “Sluttering
21. No Age – “My Life’s Alright Without You

Well, that’s it for this time. The lady and I are is currently working on a themed mix for one another that will most likely see the light of day here at some point. My external hard-drive is a piece of donkey shit and I’ve been unabled to access my music, so there’s that. In any event, until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD 

Responses

  1. you’ve never heard of anya marina? really? i think your indie cred just dropped a smidge.

  2. I’ll live to fight another day.

  3. I like these. Some really great choices in there. I love Pages. Say Yes. I always like seeing Aimee Mann appear on lists (even if the last couple of records haven’t really hit the mark). Guess I’m Doing Fine is a heartbreaker. Great stuff in there.

    Can’t wait for the Pavement mix man. Hope your drive comes out ok too. That’s just awful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

