Posted by: cousinbrandon | July 15, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Guided By Voices: Greats (Original) and Greats (Redux)

A couple weeks ago I posted a Guided By Voices mix that I recently concocted. Well, here I am back again with a double-dose of GBV, only neither of them are mine. See, here’s how the story goes…

Several years ago a friend of Cousin Matt’s put together a Guided By Voices compilation comprising mostly early/obscure tracks that would later see the light of day on their Box collection, which was a reissue of their earlier, pre-Matador work. I can’t speak for Cousin Matt, but I wore the damn thing out. In fact, it’s what prompted me to buy Box, because even though I owned some of the collected records, I didn’t own the whole collection in a single format. Anyway, Cousin Matt, recently inspired by my latest GBV mix, took it upon himself to create yet another GBV compilation in response to both my mix and the old one we had both received years back. His mix features “later” material (e.g., post-Bee Thousand material).

Why do we keep making Guided By Voices mixes? I have no goddamn idea. My best guess is because they were so prolific and outstanding that a single mix simply wouldn’t do. (And speaking of Guided By Voices, if you’ve never seen them live now might be your chance. Yes, there’s some money and travel involved, but this show sounds like it could be epic. I mean, EPIC! Just look at that fucking line-up!)

Just a couple notes on the tracks below before I hand them over. The link to “Shocker in Gloomtown” is actually a link to the entire EP from whence it came, The Grand Hour. Secondly, seeing as how Guided By Voices is such an oft-covered band, I figured I’d scour YouTube for some covers of their tracks. I found some really random individuals covering some of their songs (including this hilarious cover of “Kicker of Elves”), as well as some solid takes by bands like The Strokes, The Breeders and Throw Me the Statue. So, with that, the club is open.


Guided By Voices: Greats cover art.


Guided By Voices: Greats back cover.

Guided By Voices: Greats (Original)

1. “Postal Blowfish” – from King Shit and the Golden Boys (BONUS: The Stroke’s Albert Hammond, Jr. covers it here.)
2. “Pendulum” – from Same Place the Fly Got Smashed
3. “Shocker in Gloomtown” – from The Grand Hour EP (BONUS: The Breeders cover it here.)
4. “Lips of Steel” – from Sandbox
5. “A Visit to the Creep Doctor” – from Sandbox
6. “Awful Bliss” – from Bee Thousand
7. “Melted Pat” – from Get Out of My Stations
8. “Game of Pricks” – from Alien Lanes (BONUS: Interesting cover by Archie Powell and The Exports here, as well as a live cover by Satin Gum here.)
9. “14 Cheerleader Coldfront” – from Propeller
10. “Short On Posters” – from Self-Inflicted Aerial Nostalgia
11. “Chicken Blows” – from Alien Lanes
12. “Hey Hey, Spaceman” – from Devil Between My Toes
13. “Paper Girl” – from Self-Inflicted Aerial Nostalgia
14. “Scalding Creek” – from Get Out of My Stations
15. “Sopor Joe” – from King Shit and the Golden Boys
16. “My Valuable Hunting Knife” – from Alien Lanes (BONUS: A really awesome, original take by Throw Me the Statue here.)
17. “Goldheart Mountaintop Queen Directory” – from Bee Thousand
18. “Fantasy Creeps” – from King Shit and the Golden Boys
19. “The Hard Way” – from Same Place the Fly Got Smashed
20. “Lethargy” – from Propeller
21. “Buzzards and Dreadful Crows” – from Bee Thousand
22. “Watch Me Jumpstart” – from Alien Lanes
23. “Wished I Was a Giant” – from Vampire On Titus
24. “Smothered in Hugs” – from Bee Thousand (BONUS: Local H cover it here.)
25. “When She Turns 50” – from Same Place the Fly Got Smashed
26. “On the Tundra” – from Propeller
27. “Dog’s Out” – from Devil Between My Toes
28. “Liar’s Tale” – from Self-Inflicted Aerial Nostalgia
29. “Everyday” – from Sandbox
30. “Quality of Armor” – from Propeller
31. “Motor Away” – from Alien Lanes
32. “Hope Not (I Certainly Hope Not)” – from Sandbox
33. “Tractor Rape Chain” – from Bee Thousand
34. “If We Wait” – from Sunfish Holy Breakfast
35. “Dusty Bushworms” – from Get Out of My Stations

Guided By Voices: Greats (Redux)

1. “Man Called Aerodynamics” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
2. “My Son Cool” – from Alien Lanes
3. “Teenage FBI” – from Do the Collapse
4. “Bright Paper Werewolves” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
5. “Striped White Jets” – from Alien Lanes
6. “Atom Eyes” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
7. “Echos Myron” – from Bee Thousand
8. “The Official Ironmen Rally Song” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
9. “Little Whirl” – from Alien Lanes
10. “Mute Superstar” – from Mag Earwhig!
11. “As We Go Up, We Go Down” – from Alien Lanes
12. “Chasing Heather Crazy” – from Isolation Drills
13. “Girls of Wild Strawberries” – from Half Smiles of the Decomposed
14. “Glad Girls” – from Isolation Drills (BONUS: Weird, live cover by Broken Social Scene here.)
15. “Always Crush Me” – from Alien Lanes
16. “Don’t Stop Now” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
17. “Christian Animation Torch Carriers” – from Universal Truths and Cycles
18. “To Remake the Young Flyer” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
19. “Run Wild” – from Isolation Drills
20. “Sheet Kickers” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
21. “Hold on Hope” – from Do the Collapse
22. “Underwater Explosions” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
23. “Wrecking Now” – from Do the Collapse
24. “It’s Like Soul Man” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
25. “Secret Star” – from Earthquake Glue
26. “Cut Out Witch” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
27. “Fair Touching” – from Isolation Drills (BONUS: The Heedonists cover it here, at Rob Pollard’s birthday party no less.)
28. “Ghosts of a Different Dream” – from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars
29. “The Enemy” – from Isolation Drills
30. “Ester’s Day” – from Bee Thousand

I think it’s safe to say you now have a decent amount of GBV material from which to pull. As I’ve said before, I’m an Alien Lanes guy first and foremost, so I can’t recommend that one enough. And if you refer to the list I posted a year ago on ESPN, you’ll notice some other highly recommended albums worth your attention. On a final note, a Pavement mix is just around the corner, so there’s that. Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. Very nice. I can’t wait for the GBV reunion show. I mean their tour. Unfortunately I won’t be making it out to the Vegas show. That line up is incredible.

    I was also wondering if you had heard of a band called The Capstan Shafts. I had never heard of them before a couple of months ago when I stumbled across it trolling around emusic.com. The songs are very short, very rough, very pop and I love it. The first description that pops in my head is old school GBV, although that isn’t a perfect comparison. But if you like GBV I think it is worth a listen.

    • Oddly, I was just reading about the Capstan Shafts, or someone was just talking to me about them. I can’t quite remember. Either way, I’ll be sure to check them out.

      As I was telling my girlfriend the other day, I’ve seen GBV several times, and while they’re an incredible live band, I’m pretty much reserving myself for bands I haven’t seen at this point. Don’t get me wrong; I’d go to that Las Vegas Matador show in a heartbeat. But I don’t think I’d go out of my way to catch their reunion tour at this point.

      Incidentally, I’m going to see Pavement next month (and, possibly, The Pixies).

      • I’ll be seeing Pavement in Atlanta. My first time seeing them. Unfortunately not seeing the Pixies this go round. But I did get to see them on the last reunion tour.

        I have lost track of how many times I have seen GBV, but it is easily in the double digits. GBV shows are the only times I have ever been happy to have beer thrown on me. Gotta try and capture that feeling one last time.

        • I’ve only seen Pavement once. Saw Malkmus with the Jicks a few times. Pretty stoked this time around, though I’m not a fan of the venue. As far as The Pixies go, they’re number one on my list of bands to see whom I’m never seen before. They’re playing in Austin a week after Pavement, so hopefully it works out.

          • I saw Malkmus and the Jicks on tour for their first album. That was a good show and I never realized what a guitar player he is until I saw them live. But I have to say I have fallen off his solo stuff.

            You know now that I think about it Pavement is number one on the list of unseen bands for me. The Pixies were 1 (or 1A) before I saw them. After I see Pavement I don’t know who’ll be on top. I’ve either seen them all or I am getting too old to care maybe.

  2. Couldn’t agree more on the Malkmus solo stuff. His first two solo efforts were really good, but after that I was simply bored.

    I think that’s a great list unto itself. It’s one of my favorite discussions, as far as what band you haven’t seen, living or dead, would you see if you could choose from any performers throughout time. I always go with…

    1. The Pixies
    2. Nirvana
    3. The Beatles

    • Nirvana was actually my very first concert. Got kicked in the face in the mosh pit (didn’t really want to be in there in the first place).

      This list would probably change upon further reflection but I’ll go with:

      1. The Clash (that keeps me in good with my wife)
      2. The Talking Heads
      3. The Rolling Stones

      But I guess I am lucky that I have gotten to see all of my truly favorite bands.


Leave a Reply

Categories

