Posted by: cousinbrandon | July 21, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Trigger Cuts: The Best of Pavement

In September, I’m heading to Philadelphia with a handful of people to see one of my all-time favorite bands, Pavement, play a reunion show at the Mann Music Center. (And for the record, I’m no fan of the Mann. I’ve seen Elvis Costello play there a couple times. I’ve seen Phish there (Shut up!). I’ve seen other shows there, as well. You know what? I don’t like outdoor shows. Period. The sound quality is never as good, it’s entirely too hot, and the douchebag to normalcy ratio is off the charts.) I’ve only seen Pavement once before, and that was during their Brighten the Corners tour in Albuquerque, NM. Since then, I’ve seen Stephen Malkmus and The Jicks no less than three times, and while they were entertaining, they weren’t Pavement. There’s just no comparison.

In preparation for the September 17 show, Cousin Matt put together a mix comprising two discs’ worth of Pavement greats. At this point, most of these songs have seen the light of day on all of the Matador expanded re-releases. Still, I remember hearing some of the “rarities” well before they got the re-release treatment, and I was blown away. Pavement, after all, is best known for its five Matador releases, beginning with Slanted and Enchanted, as opposed to their earlier stuff. I mean, hardcore fans are familiar with said material, but a lot of it gets glossed over in favor of “Summer Babe (Winter Version)” and everything henceforth. The great thing about Pavement is the slew of earlier material, as well as the shit-ton of EPs and singles, is fantastic. So many hidden gems and alternative takes on better known tracks that truly need your attention.

I’m not really going to get into notation with these discs. The only comment I’ll make is that I still waffle back and forth between Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain and Wowee Zowee as my favorite Pavement record.


Trigger Cuts cover art.


Trigger Cuts interior art.


Trigger Cuts back cover.

Crooked Side (Disc 1):

1. “Kentucky Cocktail” – from John Peel Session, June 23, 1992, released on Slanted and Enchanted: Luxe & Reduxe
2. “Flux = Rad” – from Wowee Zowee
3. “Date with IKEA” – from Brighten the Corners
4. “Heaven is a Truck” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
5. “…And Carrot Rope” – from Terror Twilight
6. “Brink of the Clouds” – from Rattled By the Rush EP
7. “Cut Your Hair” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
8. “Spit On a Stranger” – from Terror Twilight
9. “Transport is Arranged” – from Brighten the Corners
10. “In the Mouth a Desert” – from Slanted and Enchanted
11. “Shady Lane” – from Brighten the Corners
12. “No Tan Lines” – from Shady Lane EP
13. “The Hexx” – from Terror Twilight
14. “Starlings of the Slipstream” – from Brighten the Corners
15. “Half a Canyon” – from Wowee Zowee
16. “Texas Never Whispers” – from Watery Domestic EP
17. “Father to a Sister to a Thought” – from Wowee Zowee
18. “Range Life” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
19. “Frontwards” [Live Version] – from Watery, Domestic
20. “Here” – from Slanted and Enchanted
21. “Fillmore Jive” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain

Slanted Side (Disc 2):

1. “Silence Kit” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
2. “Elevate Me Later” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
3. “Perfume-V” – from Slanted and Enchanted
4. “Cream of Gold” – from Terror Twilight
5. “AT&T” – from Wowee Zowee
6. “The Sutcliffe Catering Song
7. “Wanna Mess You Around” – from Shady Lane EP
8. “Embassy Row” – from Brighten the Corners
9. “Stop Breathin’” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
10. “Platform Blues” – from Terror Twilight
11. “Best Friend’s Arm” – from Wowee Zowee
12. “Westie Can’t Drum” – from Stereo single
13. “Type Slowly” – from Brighten the Corners
14. “Loretta’s Scars” – from Slanted and Enchanted
15. “Baptist Blacktick” – from Westing (By Musket & Sextant)
16. “Unfair” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
17. “Kennel District” – from Wowee Zowee
18. “Stereo” – from Brighten the Corners
19. “Summer Babe (Winter Version)” – from Slanted and Enchanted
20. “We Dance” – from Wowee Zowee
21. “Box Elder” – from Slay Tracks
22. “Gold Soundz” – from Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
23. “Baby, Yeah” [Live] – from Brixton Academy, December 14, 1992, released on Slanted and Enchanted: Luxe & Reduxe
24. “Fin” – from Brighten the Corners

I can’t urge you enough to go back and pull out all of your old Pavement records. And if you don’t already own them, buy them. Seriously. They remain one of my top 10 bands of all time, so run, don’t walk. Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. Hey Brandon.
    It’s funny. I burned my copy of the Crooked Rain extras and I’ve always known The Sutcliffe Catering Song as Easily Fooled. That was one of the first songs I learned on guitar. Hadn’t listened to it in a while. It made me happy.

    Anyways, cheers to Matt on a job well done. Mine would look pretty different but all but one of my real front line favorites is represented here (and I have a lot of top tier favorites), and they just have so much great material that it was bound to be that way. The only one that I’m really missing is Harness Your Hopes. I love that tune. It’s just so… Pavement.
    I totally love kicking it off with Kentucky Coctail. We got our Transport is Arranged, Perfume-V, In The Mouth of the Desert, 1/2 of Watery Domestic (which if we’re counting everything on sheer song for song quality is in my opinion their strongest release ), Elevate Me Later, Father to a Sister of Thought, Gold Soundz, the Hexx. I could go on and on. Matt did a wonderful job. If it’s slow today or tomorrow I’ll try to get mine in order and up just for shits and giggles.

    Thanks a lot. I’ve got it all loaded up in my iTunes and plan on having a nice Pavement day in my office.

  2. I know you hated NM but I have to say I saw some of the best shows in ABQ ([Modest, Built to Spill, Shins], Calexico, Cat Power, Wilco) . One that I remember most was seeing Pavement on the “Brighten the Corners” tour. There must have been 100 folks (give or take, mostley take) at the “Launchpad”. A couple years later I saw them on their farewell tour at Irving Plaza with an ungodly amount of people. My point is, it was great to see them in such an intimate setting (yes, I blew Malkmus) as opposed to a larger show in some of the bigger cities around the country.

    • Not only did I remember all those nights with you at the Dingo Bar, but I WAS WITH YOU at the Launchpad for Pavement. That was the night you grabbed that kid’s ball cap and tossed it across the room, only to see that same kid get kicked out by security. It was glorious.

      And, yes, I will take the small venue EVERY SINGLE TIME over the larger venue.

      • Holy shit!! Completely forgot about that. I would have added Wilco at the Dingo Bar but I spent all night at the ABQ bus station due to a shitty fake ID and no where to go. You guys had a great time though…fuckers.

  3. So, I decided that to avoid being redundant I would just do a supplemental third disk. It turned out that it was almost meant to be as when I took all of my tunes and removed all the ones that Matt had already chosen I was basically left with 1 disk of material. One other thing I figured I would put forward because it would be a matching tune so I omitted it. I personally went with the Peel Sessions version of Here. I love both versions, but I like that song a little roughed up. Anyways, here we go…

    1. Give it a Day – Pacific Trim e.p.
    2. Rattled by the Rush – Wowee Zowee
    3. Roll With the Wind – Spit on a Stranger
    4. Harness Your Hopes – Spit on a Stranger
    5. Sue Me Jack – Trigger Cut
    6. Winner of the… – Stereo
    7. Speak, See, Remember – Terror Twilight
    8. Black Out – Wowee Zowee
    9. Triggger Cut/Wounded Kite At :17 – Slanted and Enchanted
    10. Grave Architecture – Wowee Zowee
    11. Billie – Terror Twilight
    12. Zurich is Stained – Slanted and Enchanted
    13. My First Mine – Westing (By Musket and Sextant)
    14. From Now On – Westing (By Musket and Sextant)
    15. Shoot the Singer (1 Sick Verse) – Watery Domestic
    16. Grounded – Wowee Zowee
    17. Debris Slide – Westing (By Musket and Sextant)
    18. Lions (Linden) – Watery Domestic
    19. So Stark (You’re a Skyscraper) – Trigger Cut
    20. Robyn Turns 26 – At Home With The Groovebox
    21. You Are A Light – Terror Twilight
    22. Strings of Nashville – Gold Soundz
    23. Fight This Generation – Wowee Zowee
    24. Our Singer – Slanted and Enchanted

    So, hope it hits the ears well.

    • First of all, WUWRobots, I wanted to thank you for the CDs. This man went to the trouble of mailing me THREE MIXES, all the way from CA. One of your closing songs on the mix that I forgotten about (and is a great song) was your Belle and Sebastian choice (though the name of the song is currently alluding me).

      Now, as far as your Pavement mix, my favorite not-so-obvious choices of yours are “Give It a Day,” “Harness Your Hopes” and “Shoot the Singer.” Great job, my man. Killing it as always.

  4. Hey Brandon,
    It was no problem at all. Actually, thank you for the concept. I’ve made many a mix in my days, but I never really used any sort of a concept beyond a mood or to suit an activity (usually driving in some setting). I really liked building a mix with that sort of a filter. I liked it. I’m a big fan of that B&S tune. I particularly love that guitar riff section. Great tune.

    Glad you dug the Pavement supplement.
    Have a good weekend man.


Leave a Reply

Categories

