Posted by: cousinbrandon | January 11, 2011

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Slicing Up Eyeballs

Today’s post is another mix created by my lady, Michelle, whose other mixes you can find here , here and here. Slicing Up Eyeballs gets its title from a lyric in the Pixies’ “Debaser,” which happens to be the first song on the mix. It just so happens to be the first song on their record Doolittle. Why is this important? Well, because Slicing Up Eyeballs is composed entirely of “first songs.” See, she and I talked about this idea some time ago, wherein we’d make each other a mix comprising nothing but first songs from albums. It’s tougher than you think, in that some bands have several great first songs. And that, by the way, is part of the criteria: a band can only be represented once on your mix. For instance, she couldn’t have included both “Debaser” and, say, “Bone Machine” off of Surfa Rosa. Oh, and in case your wondering, my list is in the works. I’ve come to a standstill in that nearly all of my digital music is on my now-fried external drive. Jerk.

I should point out that, once I make my mix, we’re inevitably going to have some of the same songs, and that’s something we both signed off on. I mean, do you really think I’m going to make a “first song” mix and not include, say, “My Name is Jonas”?! Please. In looking at the selections below, I was able to find original versions of all 22 songs except for Guided By Voices’ “Fair Touching”; instead, I was forced to include a cover by some band called Po-ha. And while I’m not familiar with them, I can safely say that their name is downright awful.

The cover art (and the song “Debaser”) alludes to the Surrealist classic Un Chien Andalou, co-written by Salvador Dali and Luis Buñuel.

Photobucket
Slicing Up Eyeballs cover art.

Slicing Up Eyeballs:

1. Pixies – “Debaser” (Doolittle)
2. Built to Spill – “In the Morning” (There’s Nothing Wrong With Love)
3. Guided By Voices – “Fair Touching“* (Isolation Drills)
4. Pinback – “Non Photo-Blue” (Summer in Abaddon)
5. Sufjan Stevens – “Concerning the UFO Sighting Near Highland, Illinois” (Illinois)
6. The Beta Band – “Squares” (Hot Shots II)
7. The Microphones – “Ocean 1, 2, 3” (Don’t Wake Me Up)
8. Smog – “Bathysphere” (Wild Love)
9. Arcade Fire – “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)” (Funeral)
10. Sonic Youth – “Teen Age Riot” (Daydream Nation)
11. Modest Mouse – “Dramamine” (This is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About)
12. PJ Harvey – “Rid of Me” (Rid of Me)
13. Sleater-Kinney – “Call the Doctor” (Call the Doctor)
14. Fugazi – “Waiting Room” (13 Songs)
15. Weezer – “My Name is Jonas” (Weezer)
16. Neutral Milk Hotel – “King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 1” (In the Aeroplane Over the Sea)
17. Cat Stevens – “The Wind” (Teaser & The Firecat)
18. The Jesus & Mary Chain – “Just Like Honey” (Psychocandy)
19. Helium – “Pat’s Trick” (The Dirt of Luck)
20. Liz Phair – “6’1″” (Exile in Guyville)
21. Ted Leo and the Pharmacists – “Me and Mia” (Shake the Sheets)
22. The Rolling Stones – “Rocks Off” (Exile On Main Street)

Well, that’ll do it for this time. Other themed mixes are in the works, including my own “first song” mix (one day). What are some of your favorite first songs? Have you made a “first song” mix of your own? Post it in the comments sections.

Thanks to the lady for this whoop-ass mix. And until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Responses

  1. My love for Debaser is only equaled by my love for Un Chien Andalou. I am a little sad to not see Airbag from OK Computer but I guess there has to be a cut off point somewhere. Good job jew.

    • Again, a., you realize this is my lady’s mix, yes?

  2. FINE. Good job Michelle who I still have to meet?

  3. Some really, really great selections in there. I think I’ve said it before, but your girlfriend has very good taste. It shows a nice balance while maintaining a train of thought. I don’t have all the tracks, but what I can piece together I like a lot. Really good mix.

    It looks like I started to make one. I just have a playlist that is all of the first tracks in my library isolated. Maybe over my next lunch break or two I’ll start playing with it again. Off the top of my head some favorites are: Caring is Creepy (the Shins), Beyond Belief (Elvis Costello), Sweet Adeline (Elliott Smith), I Fought in a War (Belle and Sebastian), and The Obvious Child (Paul Simon). A couple I’ve been really into lately are Punks in the Beerlight (Silver Jews), Pull the Curtains (Grandaddy), and Too Many People (Paul McCartney)

    • Sorry about your drive man. That’s nothing short of totally fucked. Glad to see another/hear wheels spinning about future Misc. Mixes though. Those posts are always my favorite ones.

    • Yeah, she’s got a knack for putting a solid mix together. Again, we’ve got some other strong themes in the works, so stay tuned.

      Of all of the first songs you listed, my favorite is “Beyond Belief” by Elvis Costello. In fact, my brother used to go to this shithole bar in college where, every time he went, he played that song on the jukebox. EC kicks all sorts of butt.

      • Cheers to that. I actually just had a big EC and the Attractions week last week. I koncked the dust off of Armed Forces, Trust, Imperial Bedroom and Get Happy. Ah, such great stuff.

        • Armed Forces will always have a special place in my heart, as it was the first EC record I listened to. Still, I contend that Blood and Chocolate is my favorite.

          • Since you bring it up, Uncomplicated is another fantastic opener. Blood and Chocolate is a great record.


Leave a Reply

Categories

