Posted by: cousinbrandon | February 21, 2011

(Hai-)Kutie and the Blowfish: The Week in Twitter Haiku

For me, it’s back to teaching beginning tomorrow night. I have a late-start class this semester, which means the same amount of work crammed into a smaller window of time. That set-up has its pros and cons, obviously, in that it means my presence is required on campus less, but my classes run longer. Either way, it’s teaching, and that’s what matters. I’m happy just to get my ass back into a classroom. And, sure, I only this morning finished my syllabus for the semester, but I’d still wager that I’m fairly prepared. I mean, I’ve taught this class before, so it’s not a slew of all new material. At some point I’m sure the complaining will begin, but for now I’m pretty excited to get the semester underway. Sadly, the school still hasn’t approved my request for a chilled keg in my classroom, but I feel like their softening.

This installment of haiku, from Monday, February 14, 2011 through Sunday, February 20, 2011, covers the Grammys, Grey Gardens, cliches, double features, buried treasure, weather conditions and children’s programming. As always, you can find this collection here every Monday, or go on over and subscribe to my Twitter feed. Give a dog a bone, won’t you? (Also, I hate that goddamn expression.)

It’s the Things We Don’t Do That Define Us Haiku (February 14, 2011)

I missed the Grammys,
again solidifying
that I’m Hipster Chic.

Sometimes We Just Need a Gentle Reminder Haiku (February 15, 2011)

Watching Grey Gardens
made me feel good about the
state of my own home.

My Heart Goes Out to the Cycle of Life Haiku (February 16, 2011)

Whenever someone
says, “Morning has broken,” I
think, “Aw, poor Morning.”

These Double Feature Nights Will Be the Death of Me Haiku (February 17, 2011)

I Spit On Your Grave
remake and Basquiat doc?
Take me, sweet release.

A List of Things I’ve Found In My Attic Haiku (February 18, 2011)

Textbooks, vintage clothes,
baby clothes, Beatles dolls, lamps,
mirrors and Anne Frank.

An Assessment of the Current Wind Conditions Haiku (February 19, 2011)

Strong enough to shake
my house, yet too weak to whisk
me away to Oz.

My Preference When It Comes to Children’s Programming Haiku (February 20, 2011)

I’ll take Waverly
Place
over those idiot
Suite Life asshole twins.

Well, that’ll do it for this week. Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD

Leave a Reply

Categories

