Posted by: cousinbrandon | April 27, 2010

The “Miscellaneous” Mixes: Troutmas 2008

Okay, this one’s out of left field. Sort of. You remember these guys? Well, (mostly) this same group of fellas makes an annual pilgrimage to North Central Pennsylvania for the opening weekend of trout fishing season, or what we’ve since dubbed “Troutmas.” I’ve referenced Troutmas once before on this site. In fact, it appeared here in my Tales of the Wandering Jew series. Essentially, Troutmas is a collection of roughly 12 drunken fools spending an entire weekend fishing, drinking, grilling, drinking, breaking shit, playing poker, drinking, ripping their clothes off and drinking. It’s absolute madness and every year results in my feeling awful for the three days immediately afterwards. If you could see what the fridge looks like just after our arrival, you’d understand why. Outside of milk and eggs, it’s immediately filled with bacon, steaks, burgers, lunch meat, sausage, pork loins, ribs… in other words, meat. So, imagine three straight days of nothing but beer, liquor and (mostly) red meat. It’s horrendous, really. Sure, the occasional fish that we pull out of the stream ends up on the grill, but for the most part it’s nothing but eating/drinking ourselves sick.

In addition to all of the aforementioned insanity, a couple of us always make a special mix for the occasion. Our pal, Mick, was the first to do so, and since then both Chuck and I have followed suit. The goal each year is to A) keep your track list secret; B) create a compilation of funny/irritating tracks; and C) amuse our dumb, drunken selves to no end as we listen to these on repeat all hours of the day for the entire weekend. Trust me when I tell you the nearby fishermen pretty much hate us. Well, I failed to make it to Troutmas 2010, which took place only a week or so ago. Still, I have my compilations from both 2008 and 2009, not to mention an earlier effort in 2007 I’ll get on here at some point. And provided they’re willing to cooperate, I’ll eventually feature the mixes of Mick and Chuck, as well, since Mick just informed me that he never wrote down the mixes and the discs “are probably smashed.”

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find my artwork from my Troutmas 2008, so allow the pictures in the links above as well as the pictures below from Troutmas 2010 to serve as makeshift cover art. Again, keep in mind that these mixes are for entertainment purposes only. What’s more, I just learned today that Ted Knight – the Ted Knight – did the voiceovers/narration on The Super Friends. Holy hell! Enjoy.

Photobucket
Tim’s 2010 Troutmas Mix.

Photobucket
My idiot friends or the IRA? Discuss.

Troutmas 2008:

1. Ja’net Du Bois – “Movin’ On Up (The Jeffersons Theme Song)
2. Herbie Hancock – “Rockit
3. The Whitest Kids U Know – “Dinosaur Rap
4. Ted Knight – “The Super Friends Theme Song
5. Dave D. – “You Say Cheech, I Say Choo
6. Charlie Kelly and Dennis Reynolds – “Day Man
7. Eddie Grant – “Electric Avenue
8. Alan Thicke – “Diff’rent Strokes Theme Song
9. Ween – “Homo Rainbow
10. N.W.A. – “Fuck tha Police
11. Alan Partridge – “The Best of the Beatles
12. Falco – “Rock Me Amadeus
13. Unknown – “The Chopper
14. The Whitest Kids U Know – “Hitler Rap
15. Thomas Dolby – “She Blinded Me with Science
16. Ween – “Where’d the Motherfuckin’ Cheese Go?
17. Rick Springfield – “Jessie’s Girl
18. Potsie Weber – “Pump Your Blood
19. Unknown – “Far Out Space Nuts Theme Song
20. Toto – “Africa
21. The Kids in the Hall – “The Daves I Know
22. Billy Joel – “My Life
23. Kool Moe Dee – “I Go to Work
24. Motorhead – “Ace of Spades
25. Heinz Keissling – “Temptation Sensation (It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia Theme)

If you actually managed to make it all the way through, congratulations. What’s more, if you can let me know who actually sang “The Chopper” as well as the theme song to the Far Out Space Nuts, please leave it in the Comments section.

Until next time, have at it, you vultures!

BD


Responses

  1. Hey Brandon.
    Sounds like a hell of a weekend. That’s awesome.
    Also, Ted Knight did the Super Friends voice over? Alan Thicke did Diff’rent Strokes? Those are cool little factoids.
    The stuff I know on here is really cool. The Dave’s I Know made me smile when I saw it. That one brings back some memories, and makes me miss my old mix tapes that were stolen in the beginning of the 00s. This mix brings to mind this song that the South Park dudes did, I believe for the Orgazmo soundtrack called Twisted Steel Leather Donut that was a really fun tune.
    I also particularly enjoy the Rock Me Amadeus and She Blinded Me With Science choices and one of these days I’m going to have to listen to the Homo Rainbow link. I’ve heard about that song for years and somehow never actually heard it. Somehow I just kind of missed the boat on the Ween thing. I’ve picked up a couple records and each has a track or two, but on the whole it just doesn’t seem to completely click.
    Is Day Man the one from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia? That’s hilarious.

    Any mix that starts off with the theme from the Jeffersons gets my respect.

    That’s a lot of ramble. Cool mix man.

    • Awesome? Yes. Self-destructive? Yes-ser.

      Yeah, I was blown away to discover that about Ted Knight. (“Meanwhile, back at the Hall of Justice…”) I had no goddamn idea. The Alan Thicke thing, though, I had known previously.

      “The Daves I Know” was the title I suggested for Dave’s podcast, “Daves of Thunder.” Those old Kids in the Hall sketches are fantastic.

      Look, I insist you give Ween a listen. Chocolate and Cheese, as well as The Mollusk, are spectacular records. The thing with Ween is that you have to realize they’re genre-hopping geniuses. They can truly pull off any genre and do it extraordinarily well. Give ’em a listen.

      And, yes, that’s “Day Man” from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, one of my favorite shows ever.

      Now, then, I’ll see you “on the east side…”

  2. I like my condo and all, but I’d take a deluxe apartment in the sky.

    I’ll add Chocolate and Cheese to my list. I have God Ween Satan, The Oneness and I used to have Pure Guava and there are definitely some scattered tracks that I’m into. Definitely worth taking another crack at it. The Homo Rainbow definitely lived up to the hype. That’s a great tune.

    Dinosaur Rap is really, really great.

    • “Dinosaur Rap” whoops ass, particularly at 7 AM when you’re already drunk and high.


Leave a comment

Categories